Doing It Big With Cody Simpson

English: It must be difficult for anyone making a career decision to move to another country, let alone to make the decision when you’re thirteen. Cody Simpson — a cute blonde Australian boy — posted a couple videos of himself singing and playing guitar on youtube at the tender age of 13. Before he knew it, he was contacted by record producer Shawn Campbell and moved from Australia to Los Angeles to make an album with Atlantic Records.
His accomplishments seem boundless since: he has received over 110 million youtube views and well over 2 million facebook likes. His single, “On My Mind,” off of his second e.p. “Coast to Coast” reached #1 on Radio Disney and he has been on a myriad of television shows from the “Ellen DeGeneres Show” to “Live! With Regis and Kelly.” He is quickly becoming the next digital generation phenomenon.
Now at the age of 15, Cody is continuing to work hard in order to maintain his success.
When asked if there was a girl in his life – as his music mainly discusses relationships and love – Cody replied, “No, there isn’t at the moment. If the girl you’re talking about is named ‘Music’ then sure, I’m dating her. But really I am just focusing on my career at the moment. I’m a pretty focused kid and I am definitely very self motivated. And I think once I get everything established to where I want to be, than there is time for all that. I got a while. I love to hang out with girls, but relationships are real hard for me at the moment. I have a lot of good friends, but nothing too serious.”
Cody is mature for his age. As a rising star, he is often compared to Justin Bieber. When asked what he thinks of being compared to Justin, Cody said, “I think a lot of people like to put things in boxes and say, ‘okay, he was discovered on YouTube and he sings and he is a teenager, so that means he is a new Justin Bieber.’ What? Like hold on a second…”
But despite the comparisons, Cody revealed, “Justin and I were just in the studio, like yesterday working together. Obviously I’m still at the more beginning stages of my career. But its cool to work with Justin and people like him. At the end of the day, it all comes down to the music and the creation of that. He is working on his next album and I am working on my debut. I think that this generation is definitely doing it big.”
On being a young artist, Cody said, “I think there are many disadvantages of being young and being a teenager. There are only certain things you can say musically and certain things you can do. I’m never really going to say anything risky or explicit in my songs. I definitely am more mature for my age. But I think as my fans grew up and as I grew up with my fans, we had to just create the music for them. A lot of people definitely expect a certain thing from a teen artist. But I think with my album, with the single, and the video, and this tour that I’m doing, I think I’m going to surprise a lot of people. I am really excited for the coming year. And I will see how it goes. I am definitely doing things that no one is expecting.”
A great example of Cody’s artistic and unexpected side is his cover of Drake’s “Marvin’s Room” — a song about drunk texting lost romances. But since the song is widely inappropriate for younger audiences, Cody decided to “re-imagine” it.
“I’m a big Drake fan in general. I love that song and I wanted to re-imagine it and create a version of the song I think my fans could listen to and they could relate to,” he said. “JoJo did the female side of things of that story, and then I wanted to create a story for my younger fans.”
So what is Cody doing when he is not recording, going on tour, or making music videos?
“I go to school in the morning usually. My tutor travels with me when I’m on the road. I think it’s important to stay in school,” he said.
But what about during his time off?
“I love to go surfing. I love to play golf. Golf is always relaxing when you have a day off. I love just being out in the ocean and I love just being out on the golf course.”
Now living in Los Angeles, golf and surf is easily available to him, though the surf is better “back home in Australia,” according to Cody. When asked about his life before fame, Cody misses “that time to chill with friends. I have friends back home that I am very close to that I still talk to every single day. We don’t really get to hang out too much. I miss them and my family and my lifestyle a little bit. I love writing music and [Los Angeles] is where you have to be for that.”
The future is promising. “I am creating my own album right now,” Cody said. “My single is coming out in the next few weeks. For right now, I am focusing on the tour.”
When asked where he would like to be in five years from now, he said, “I’ll be 20 years old, hopefully still making music as a respected artist and someone that has inspired a lot of people and has made some great music. That is all I really want to do. I want to inspire my fans. I want to do work for charity in the next five years, definitely. There is a lot of stuff happening to me and I want to make sure I am giving back to my fans and people less fortunate than me.”

Svenska
:Det måste vara svårt för någon att göra en karriär beslut att flytta till ett annat land, än mindre att fatta beslut när du är tretton. Cody Simpson - en söt australiensk kille - postat ett par videor av sig själv sjunga och spela gitarr på youtube vid ålder av 13. Innan han visste ordet av var han kontaktad av skivproducent Shawn Campbell och flyttade från Australien till Los Angeles för att göra ett album med Atlantic Records.
Hans prestationer verkar gränslösa sedan: han har fått över 110 miljoner youtube visningar och väl över 2 miljoner facebook likes. Hans singel, "On My Mind" off hans andra ep "Coast to Coast" nådde #1 på Radio Disney och han har varit på en myriad av tv-program från "Ellen DeGeneres Show" till "Live! Med Regis och Kelly. "Han har snabbt blivit nästa digitala generationen fenomen.
Nu vid 15 års ålder, Fortsätter Cody att arbeta hårt för att behålla sin framgång.
När vi frågade om det fanns en flicka i hans liv - som hans musik främst diskuterar relationer och kärlek - Cody svarade: "Nej, det är inte för tillfället. Om flickan du pratar om heter "Musik" så visst, jag dejtar henne. Men egentligen fokuserar jag bara på min karriär just nu. Jag fokuserad kille och jag är definitivt mycket själv motiverade. Och jag tror när jag får allt inrättats för att där jag vill vara, än det är tid för allt. Jag fick en stund. Jag älskar att umgås med tjejer, men relationer är riktigt hårt för mig just nu. Jag har många bra vänner, men inget allvarligt. "
Cody är mogen för sin ålder. Som en stigande stjärna, han jämförs ofta med Justin Bieber. På frågan vad han tycker om att jämfört med Justin, säger Cody, "Jag tror att många människor gillar att sätta saker i lådor och säga" okej, han upptäcktes på YouTube, och han sjunger och han är en tonåring, så det betyder Han är en ny Justin Bieber. "Vad? vänta en sekund... "
Men trots jämförelserna, avslöjade Cody , "Justin och jag var bara i studion, som i går arbetade vi  tillsammans. Självklart är jag fortfarande på början stadiet av min karriär. Men det är coolt att jobba med Justin och människor som honom. Vid slutet av dagen kommer det hela ner till musiken och skapandet av det. Han arbetar på hans nästa album och jag arbetar på min debut. Jag tror att denna generation verkligen kan göra det stora. "
På att vara en ung konstnär, säger Cody, "Jag tror att det finns många nackdelar med att vara ung och att vara en tonåring. Det finns bara vissa saker du kan säga musikaliskt och vissa saker du kan göra. Jag har aldrig riktigt kommer att säga något riskabelt eller explicit i mina låtar. Jag är definitivt mer mogen för min ålder. Men jag tror som mina fans växte upp och när jag växte upp med mina fans, hade vi bara skapa musik för dem. Många förväntar sig definitivt en viss sak från en tonåring konstnär. Men jag tänker med mitt album, med den enda, och videon, och den här turen att jag gör, jag tror jag ska överraska många människor. Jag är verkligen glad för det kommande året. Och jag får se hur det går. Jag definitivt att göra saker som ingen förväntar sig. "
Ett bra exempel på Cody konstnärliga och oväntade sidor är hans omslaget Drakes "Marvins Room" - en sång om berusad texting förlorade romanser. Men eftersom låten är allmänt olämplig för yngre publik, bestämde Cody för att "re-tänka" det.
"Jag är ett stort Drake fan i allmänhet. Jag älskar den låten och jag ville åter tänka den och skapa en version av låten jag tror att mina fans skulle kunna lyssna till och de kunde relatera till, "sade han. "JoJo gjorde den kvinnliga sidan av saker i den historien, och jag ville skapa en berättelse för mina yngre fans."
Så vad Cody gör när han inte spelar in, gå på turné, eller göra musik videor?
"Jag går till skolan på morgonen, vanligen. Min lärare reser med mig när jag är på väg. Jag tycker det är viktigt att gå i skolan ", sade han.
Men vad gör han under sin ledighet?
"Jag älskar att surfa. Jag älskar att spela golf. Golf är alltid avkopplande när du har en ledig dag. Jag älskar att vara ute i havet och jag bara älskar att vara ute på golfbanan. "
Nu bor i Los Angeles, är golf och surfa lätt tillgänglig för honom, även om surfa är bättre "hemma i Australien", enligt Cody. När vi frågade om hans liv innan berömmelse missar Cody "den där tiden för att chilla med vänner. Jag har vänner hemma som jag är mycket nära och som jag fortfarande pratar med varje dag. Vi får inte riktigt umgås för mycket. Jag saknar dem och min familj och min livsstil lite. Jag älskar att skriva musik och [Los Angeles] är där man måste vara för det. "
Framtiden är lovande. "Jag skapar min egen skiva just nu," Cody sagt. "Min Singeln kommer ut under de närmaste veckorna. För just nu, jag fokuserar på turné. "
När vi frågade var han skulle vilja vara i fem år från nu, sade han, "Jag kommer att vara 20 år gammal, förhoppningsvis fortfarande gör musik som en respekterad artist och någon som har inspirerat många människor och har gjort några bra musik. Det är allt jag verkligen vill göra. Jag vill inspirera mina fans. Jag vill arbeta för välgörenhet under de kommande fem åren, definitivt. Det finns en hel del saker händer för mig och jag vill vara säker på jag ge tillbaka till mina fans och folk är mindre lyckligt lottade än jag. "

- källa:
BlastMagazine.com

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0