Cody Simpson Tour Diary Day One

cody simpson exclusive interview on tour

Cody Simpson, the “Adorable Aussie” as we call him, has agreed to give Popdust the low-down on life on the road during his “Waiting for Paradise” tour: The good, the bad, and the breakfast. We’ll be speaking to Cody on the phone and turning his words into daily tour diary entries. In this first of three installments, we peer into the nitty-gritty of a typical manic Monday for the Adorable Aussie.

Monday, February 20th

Yesterday was Monday, yeah? Oh boy.

6:00 AM

I woke up in Washington D.C. on my tour bus bunk. I was not in a very good mood because I’d just recovered from being sick. I was real sick for 3 or 4 days and woke up with a bit of a sore throat. It’s always worse in the morning. Also, I was up pretty late the night before. I’m not sure how much sleep I actually got. I’m on tour with Jessica Jarrell (a very talented up-and-coming R&B artist and one of my best friends in the states) who has never seen the Harry Potter series, so I was showing her a little bit of that. It was fun; waking up was not.

6:15 AM

Breakfast. I have breakfast as soon as I wake up. I had Special K. I put fruit in it too – Strawberries and blueberries. When you’re out on the road, eating healthy is essential. Also, I don’t love Vegemite. I know that’s not very Australian of me, but I prefer a jam or a peanut butter.

8:00 AM

I had a morning TV appearance, D.C.’s Morning Talk Show or something like that. The TV performance was great; I previewed my single “So Listen.” It was a pretty regular.

WAIT. No. Now that I remember. I went through the motions of performing and interviewing, but we had 15 extra minutes. After a more serious story, during the ad break, I asked if I could crash the weather report. I did and it was hilarious. It come out on YouTube and all my fans lost it. I think I found my other calling yesterday…


9:00 AM

We drove to a mall in Virginia for a signing and meet-and-greet. It was crazy. Mayhem. 1000 people came Sunday to win 200 passes for the event, and 2000 people without passes still showed up. It’s impossible to make everyone happy, I know a lot of artists can relate. I love meeting my fans. Good time. Thankfully nothing out of the ordinary, like old guys showing up with cameras to sell photos on, like, eBay. I don’t like speaking bad about anyone, but it’s like, “Woah, what are you doing here?” It’s just something that mildly bugs me.

We finished that, and drove back to the bus. I wrote a song actually. I haven’t had much time to work on anything. I just get certain little inspirations, certain little sparks. Not related to Special K this time, though.

11:00 AM

Then we went to soundcheck. My band is so incredible; they can play anything. Sometimes, if we have time, we’ll play a Kanye West, a Jay-Z, a Drake to hype me up. I like to rap. Good time.

12:00 PM

Lunch. Chicken roll from Subway. It was a footlong, so I guess it was $5? I love that jingle. I wrote it. Joking.

2:00 PM

V.I.P. meet-and-greet at the venue, the Filmore Silver Spring in Maryland. 50 people. I like to make sure they all have a great experience. I sign posters and t-shirts, and they get a bundle of gear. I love picking a couple fans to give some special attention. This one girl came up and asked if she could rap, so I put her on the spot. Got everyone’s attention – my manager, my sister, everyone – and she rapped Nicki Minaj (I think “Super Bass?”). It was so fun. I can’t believe people cry when they see me. I’d say about 1 in every, like, 10 person will come along with some tears.

3:30 PM

Yesterday’s show was a matinee at 5, so I had an hour-and-a-half to just chill. Actually, I have a robe that I put on. My tour robe. I wear it every night before and after the show. Just to relax myself. It’s almost like a mental thing. It’s navy, very simple, a very simple Ralph Lauren robe.

I had an hour before the show to stretch, warm up, drink some tea, listen to music. Then I put my suit on and I’m ready to go. A navy velvet blazer. Is navy my color? I think so. I want everything I do and every look to be a very classy, fitted look. I think it’s cool because I’m young and people don’t expect me to dress like that.

6:00 PM

I’m usually offstage a little before 9 in a regular situation, but since this was a matinee, I got offstage before 6. Very great show. We’ve been on tour for a couple weeks and have perfected every aspect of the performance. No mishaps or funny business last night, fortunately.

I went straight to the bus, put my robe back on, freshened up a little bit, and had dinner. Steak and vegetables. Delicious.

Jess and I watched more Harry Potter and then I hit my bunk. No tour pranks yet. In the future? Hopefully.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0