Cody Simpson Poised to be Bieb-heir apparent

English: Fifteen-year-old Cody Simpson is as close as it’s possible to get to a hand-picked heir to Justin Bieber. As a singer, he’s arguably better than Bieber, now 17, was at a similar point in his career, and he’s a frighteningly charismatic live performer. But more important: Simpson is well-connected (Bieber manager Scooter Braun is part of his team, and he has a major label deal with Atlantic Records), adorably accented (he’s Australian) and has really great hair (wavy and surfer-y and blond).

Simpson started out as Bieber did, with YouTube performance videos that got him discovered by the right people. He moved from Australia to Los Angeles, released a few singles, landed a few TV guest spots and gradually began to build an impressive following on Twitter and in teen mags.

Right now, Simpson is promoting his 2011 EP, “Coast to Coast,” with a headlining tour that will bring him to the House of Blues on Valentine’s Day.

He’s also recording a full-length debut that might come out this summer, though major labels unfortunately tend to delay the release of such things longer than they should. Which means that in 2012, Simpson will either approach Bieberian levels of fame, or become the next Greyson Chance (Remember Greyson Chance? No? Right.).

Simpson is well-spoken and polite, careful to frequently mention how grateful he is, how excited, how humbled. If the pressure is getting to him, or homesickness, he won’t say. Instead, he says things like, “At the end of the day, it comes down to the music.” Or, “It’s important to grow as an artist.”

It’s tough to separate the actual 15-year-old kid from the presumably media-coached superstar-in-training. It’s also tough not to worry about him.

Q: Have you thought that this tour may be the last time you ever play small venues?

A: Yeah. Yeah, definitely. And I think when I graduate from those size venues I’m going to make the most of it. Hopefully in the future we’ll definitely be stepping it up.

Q: You’re currently in the studio recording your debut. How’s it going?

A: I’m very picky when it comes to music, and I’m really trying to find that sound and just those great records that define who I am as an artist. (I don’t want) just to be that artist that has the smash hits on the radio.

Q: You’re trying to make a statement: This is who I am.

A: Yes, exactly. … I think it’s time now that I make a statement and that a lot of people see what I can do. Honestly, I’m just excited with everything that’s been going on, and I couldn’t be more excited and couldn’t be more grateful for the opportunity. It’s going to be a great year. I think I’m going to show a lot of people.

Q: There have been tweeted photos of you and Justin Bieber working on something in the studio together. Any news you’d like to break?

A: I work with a lot of different artists, and Justin and I … I’m still at the very beginning of my career, and it’s very cool to have someone there who’s been in the position before to be there and making music with you. Justin and I feel like family. We have the same manager, and whenever we hang out, we have a good time. … Musically it’s all a big circle, and we all support each other in every way. It’s all love and family.

Q: That’s a lot of scary pressure to put on yourself, to have his career (as your example).

A: Yeah. I wouldn’t call it pressure, though. I definitely am hard on myself sometimes, but I don’t think I should look at Justin and say, “If I didn’t do exactly what he did, then I wasn’t successful,” you know what I mean? I definitely want to create my own path and my own lane and be my own artist and be, like, “This is the way I did it, not the way Justin did it.”

Q: When you first moved to LA from Australia, was it strange, this introduction into a new, Hollywood kind of life?

A: Yeah, my life was the complete opposite before. I was swimming, and my life was laid-back and relaxing. (I was worried about) getting my homework done. I was definitely brought into such a crazy world, but honestly it’s what I’ve been dreaming of for a little while. … At the end of the day, it comes down to music, and I love making music.

Q: Do you miss life back when it was simpler?

A: Um. No. I don’t think I miss — I miss my friends and my family, but I think I really love what I’m doing right now. I definitely wouldn’t ask for anything else.

Q: When you first put those videos on YouTube, what were you expecting would happen?


A: It was just for fun, for my friends and my family, and it encouraged me a little bit. I was like, “Hey, why don’t we just put it online?” And then once I started getting these views and people wanted me to post more videos, it was something that could change into something bigger. I always thought, “What if,” you know? I never thought it would actually happen, but I always thought, “What if someone saw these videos and wanted me to come to the USA? And turn this into a career?”

Svenska: Femton år gammal Cody Simpson är så nära som det är möjligt att ta sig till en handplockad arvtagare till Justin Bieber. Som en sångare, han är utan tvekan bättre än Bieber, nu 17, var på en liknande punkt i sin karriär, och han är en skrämmande karismatisk levande artist. Men viktigare: Simpson är väl anslutna (Bieber manager Scooter Braun är en del av sitt team, och han har ett stort bolag avtal med Atlantic Records), adorably accent (han är Australian) och har riktigt bra hår (vågigt och surfare, y och blond).

Simpson började som Bieber gjorde, med YouTube prestanda videor som fick honom upptäckte rätt personer. Han flyttade från Australien till Los Angeles, släppte ett par singlar,var med i några tv-inslag och gradvis började bygga ett imponerande följande på Twitter och i tonåring tidningar.

Just nu är Simpson främja hans 2011 EP, "Coast to Coast", med en turné som kommer att föra honom till House of Blues på Alla hjärtans dag.

Han spelas också in en fullängds debut som kan komma ut i sommar/vår, men stora skivbolag dessvärre tenderar att fördröja frisläppandet av sådana saker längre än de borde. Vilket betyder att 2012 kommer Simpson antingen närma Bieberian nivåer av berömmelse, eller bli nästa Greyson Chance (Kom ihåg Greyson Chance? Nej Right.).

Simpson är väl talad och artig, noga med att ofta nämna hur tacksam han är, hur upphetsad, hur förödmjukad. Om trycket blir för honom, eller hemlängtan, kommer han inte säga. Istället säger han saker som "Vid slutet av dagen, det kommer ner till musiken." Eller "Det är viktigt att växa som en konstnär."

Det är svårt att skilja det verkliga 15-årig kille från förmodligen media-coachade superstar-i-utbildning. Det är också svårt att inte oroa honom.

F
: Har du tänkt att denna tur kan vara sista gången du någonsin att spela små lokaler?

S
: Ja. Ja, definitivt. Och jag tror när jag examen från dessa storlek platser jag kommer att göra det bästa av det. Förhoppningsvis i framtiden kommer vi definitivt att öka den.

F: Du är just nu i studion spela in din debut. Hur går det?

S: Jag är väldigt kräsen när det gäller musik, och jag verkligen försöker att finna att ljud och bara de stora poster som definierar vem jag är som artist. (Jag vill inte) bara vara den artisten som har de Smash Hits på radio.

F: Du försöker göra ett uttalande: Detta är vem jag är.

S: Ja, exakt. ... Jag tycker det är dags nu att jag gör ett uttalande och att många människor ser vad jag kan göra. Ärligt talat, jag är bara glad med allt som har pågått, och jag kunde inte vara mer upphetsad och kunde inte vara mer tacksam för möjligheten. Det kommer att bli ett bra år. Jag tror jag ska visa en massa människor.

Fråga: Det har twittrade bilder av dig och Justin Bieber som arbetar på något i studion tillsammans. Alla nyheter du vill berätta?

S: Jag arbetar med många olika artister, och Justin och jag ... jag är fortfarande i början av min karriär, och det är väldigt coolt att ha någon där som har varit i stånd innan för att vara där och göra musik med dig . Justin och jag känner oss som familj. Vi har samma manager, och när vi umgås har vi har en bra tid. ... Musikaliskt är det allt en stor cirkel, och vi stöttar varandra på alla sätt. Det är all kärlek och familj.

Fråga: Det är mycket skrämmande press att sätta på sig själv, att få sin karriär (som ditt exempel).

S: Ja. Jag skulle inte kalla det press, dock. Jag definitivt är hård mot mig själv ibland, men jag tror inte jag ska titta på Justin och säger, "Om jag inte gjorde exakt vad han gjorde, då var jag inte lyckad" du vet vad jag menar? Jag definitivt vill skapa min egen väg och min egen fil och vara min egen konstnär och vara liknande: "Det är så jag gjorde det, inte så Justin gjorde det."

F: När du först flyttade till LA från Australien, var det konstigt, denna inledning till en ny, Hollywood sorts liv?

S: Ja, det var mitt liv raka motsatsen innan. Jag simmade, och mitt liv var avslappnade och avkopplande. (Jag var orolig för) att få min läxor färdiga. Jag var definitivt föras till ett sådant en galen värld, men ärligt det är vad jag har drömt om en liten stund. ... I slutet av dagen, handlar det om musik, och jag älskar att göra musik.

Q: Har du glömt livet tillbaka när det var enklare?

S: Um. Nej, jag tror inte att jag saknar - jag saknar mina vänner och min familj, men jag tror att jag verkligen älskar vad jag gör just nu. Jag definitivt inte skulle be om något annat.

F: När du först sätta dessa videor på YouTube, vad trodde du skulle hända?

S: Det var bara på skoj, för mina vänner och min familj, och det uppmuntrade mig lite. Jag var som "Hey, varför lägger vi inte ut det på nätet?" Och sen när jag började få dessa åsikter och människor ville att jag skulle lägga upp fler videor, det var något som skulle kunna ändra till något större. Jag har alltid trott, "Tänk om," du vet? Jag trodde aldrig att det faktiskt skulle hända, men jag har alltid tänkte, "Vad händer om någon såg dessa filmer och ville att jag skulle komma till USA? Och förvandla detta till en karriär? "

-Källa:
ChicagoTribune.com

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0