Cody simpson hates Vegemite, Loves the weekend adn dosen't want to be lik Justin Bieber

cody simpson exclusive interview

Engelska: Over the course of one week, 14-year-old Cody Simpson managed to defeat not one but five British heartthrobs without misplacing a strand of his signature blond surfer hair, thanks to the unwavering support of his dedicated fans. Australia’s own was the winner in our inaugural installment of the Popdust Pop-Off, which saw over 80,000 votes, defeating Max, Nathan, Siva, Tom and Jay of The Wanted for esteemed bragging rights and Popdust homepage love. As he gears up to take on his next competitor—motherfucking princess Avril Lavigne—and watch his likeness be transformed into a plastic toy just in time for the holidays, we caught up with the singer to offer our congratulations, and find out what he’s been listening to. The answer may surprise you.

POPDUST: Congratulations on winning our first Pop-Off! Your fans really brought it with the tweets, Facebook messages and comments in support of “Not Just You.” Did you know how intense they were beforehand?
CODY SIMPSON: It was crazy. I saw the contest and I told them all to vote and everything, and I saw how close the competition was. Thanks for putting me up for that, it was cool.

You’re so welcome. Have you had previous experience with crazy fans?
We’ll park in some private spot expecting no one to know where our car is, and we’ll come back and there’ll be kiss marks all over the windows and crazy stuff like that. You really don’t understand how it happens, but my fans are super dedicated and everything and stuff like this shows how supportive of me they are and [that] we’re all a great family, so it’s nice.

Ever consider taking advantage of their dedication? Maybe tweet out some favors, ask for a cup of coffee, a burger, free swag?
No [Laughs] I don’t. I keep them nice.

So you’ve been made into a doll, huh?
Yeah I’ll be in New York this week launching [my doll] in Times Square at ToysRUs, doing a little concert—well, probably a big concert. ToysRUs is such an iconic place and such a fun place for kids, you know me having a little brother who is seven-years-old, it’s really cool how excited kids get, especially seeing all the dolls up on the shelves and [thinking] that a miniature version of me is going to be up there, it’s unreal.

Was it hard for them to replicate you? Did you have to stand for hours and be drawn, or was some super smart technology involved?
It was actually very simple, we just sent in a bunch of photos and stuff and outfits that I’ve actually worn. We wanted to make sure that it was as close as possible to looking like me without me going in and doing an actual mold. [Laughs] That would be crazy.

Did you have any input on your hair?
Yeah. I think they did a great job.

So you’re the one responsible for the term “side-swept surfer ‘do”!
I don’t think I named it that? [Laughs]

I think that’s what they’re calling it.
I definitely had to look over and make sure it was looking nice. I’m really happy with it.

Are you prepared to sign yourself?
It’s going to be weird signing a bunch of little me’s. Pretty funny.

Tell us about the winning song, “Not Just You.”
I think it’s something that’s very close to me emotionally and stuff like when I was in the studio recording it and filming the music video. It’s something that I really feel close to because I got to be there in the process of creating that song and I always get emotional when I sing that because it’s such a slow and lovely ballad and it’s something that my fans really enjoy. I get to play it on the guitar almost every day.

Is the break-up based on personal experience?
Yeah. Yeah. [Laughs]

We’ve had some debates about this: were you the one who initiated the break-up?
Yeah I was.

Hopefully not via text message or anything like that?
No, I make sure to keep it gentlemanly.

Good to hear. You’ve also begun working with Justin Bieber’s manager, Scooter Braun, this year. Have you gotten to hang out with Justin at all?
A few times. I’m going to be working in the studio with him over the next few months. I’m actually in the studio working on my album and we’re going to be working with him, and he’s been nothing but amazing. We have some amazing plans for next year [and] I really can’t wait to share the album with everyone.

Have you learned anything from him, music or otherwise? Is there anything you want to emulate about The Bieb?
Not really because I want to be a totally different artist. I want to make sure—I respect him and I have nothing but amazing things to say about him, but every artist wants to be their own and wants to create their own style of music, their own sounds, their own show and stuff, and that’s what I’m working towards right now. [I'm] working on that with Scooter and I’m excited about that. Justin has been really supportive of that as well so it’s cool. It’s a great relationship that we all have at the moment.

He also had very iconic hair when he first came out.
Yeah. [Laughs]

He’s had a few haircuts recently that have gotten a lot of attention—some people still love it, others not so much. Do you see a change in hairstyle down the line?
Maybe, but I’m pretty into my hair at the moment.

You like your side-swept surfer ‘do? Get a lot of compliments?
I’m thinking of growing it longer.

We can picture the dolls now. Which brings us to a nice segue: You’re from Australia, so for those of us in America, what’s the most Aussie thing about you?
Probably my accent. [Laughs] I can’t say that there’s anything more Australian than the way I talk, and—what else? I have to ask an American about that. My laid-back personality and stuff?

Do you like Vegemite? [Ed. note: Vegemite is a salty spread that many Aussies put on toast. Try at your own risk.]
I’m going to be honest… I don’t like Vegemite.

Really? You’re the first Australian I’ve talked to that’s ever said that.
[Laughs] I just never enjoyed it.

Shocker. We might have to revoke your Australian card for that one.
[Laughs] No.

So you’re one for one in our Pop-Off competition, and now you’re up against Avril Lavigne and her song “Wish You Were Here.” Do you like her music?
It’s actually real funny because when I was younger, like eight or nine, I would have—she’s been out for a little while, yeah?

A little while.
I bet I was 10, but I used to sing her songs on Sing Star on Playstation.

Really?
Yeah like “Complicated” and all that stuff. It’s real funny that I’m up against her. I’m definitely a fan, so we’ll see how it goes, [but] I honestly wouldn’t be disappointed if I didn’t win, I’m not a sore loser or anything.

But what about the Simpsonizers? You have to get out the vote!
Obviously I’m very competitive, so we’ll see how it goes.

Your fans don’t want to let this go, they’re already tweeting like crazy.
No they don’t. [Laughs]

Any message for them as we go into the next round?
I just want to tell them all thank you for the love and support, thank you for voting. I really appreciate how dedicated they all are and hopefully we can keep it up.

What music are you listening to these days? Are you really working on a remix to The Weeknd?
Yeah. Yup.

Do you think that might surprise people?
He’s probably in my top 3 favorite artists at the moment. There’s a lot that people don’t now about me.

That’s good, that’s what we’re here for.
I’m a big fan of The Weeknd, big fan of Drake, too.

We’ve definitely been playing them both around the office—what’s your favorite song on Take Care?
I love the first track “Over My Dead Body.” I love “Shot For Me,” it’s real good. “The Real Her,” I’m a big fan of the slow stuff he’s put out, it’s a little different to what he’s previously done. I’m a big fan of moody music—I just remixed “Marvin’s Room.”

Any more covers or remixes lined up?
I’m going to be remixing [The Weeknd's] “What You Need” in the next few weeks. I don’t think it will let anyone down. I’m listening to those two artists definitely, a lot Jack Johnson also, a lot of chill vibey music that I grew up listening to.

To complete the Australian vibe.
CS: Yes ma’am!

Svenska: Under loppet av en vecka lyckades 14-åriga Cody Simpson att besegra inte bara en utan fem brittiska heartthrobs utan misplacing en del av hans signatur blont surfaren hår, tack vare den orubbliga stöd för sitt hängivna fans. Australiens egen var vinnaren i vår installationstal delen av Popdust Pop-Off, som fick över 80.000 röster, av att besegra Max, Nathan, Siva, Tom och Jay sökes för uppskattade skryta och Popdust hemsida kärlek. När han växlar upp att ta på hans nästa konkurrent-jävla prinsessan Avril Lavigne och titta på hans avbild förvandlas till en plast leksak precis i tid för semester, fångade vi upp med sångerskan att erbjuda våra gratulationer, och ta reda på vad han har varit lyssnar på. Svaret kanske förvånar dig.

POPDUST: Grattis till att vinna vår första Pop-Off! Dina fans tog verkligen den med tweets, Facebook-meddelanden och kommentarer till stöd för "Not Just You." Visste du hur intensivt de var i förväg?
CODY SIMPSON: Det var galet. Jag såg tävlingen och jag berättade för dem alla att rösta och allt, och jag såg hur nära tävlingen. Tack för att sätta upp mig för det, det var coolt.



Du är välkommen så. Har du haft tidigare erfarenhet av galna fans?
Vi parkerar i vissa privata platser där
ingen förväntar sig att veta var vår bil är, och vi ska komma tillbaka och det blir kiss märken över hela fönstren och galna saker. Du verkligen inte förstår hur det händer, men mina fans är super engagerade och allt och saker som detta visar hur stödjande av mig de är och [att] vi alla en stor familj, så det är trevligt.

Någonsin överväga att dra fördel av deras engagemang? Kanske tweet ut några favörer, be om en kopp kaffe, en hamburgare, gratis swag?
Nej [skrattar] Jag vet inte. Jag håller dem fint.

Så du har gjorts till en docka, va?
Ja, jag kommer att vara i New York denna vecka lanserar [min docka] på Times Square på ToysRUs, gör en liten konsert brunnar, troligen en stor konsert. ToysRUs är en så ikonisk plats och en så rolig plats för barnen, du känner mig som har en lillebror som är sju år gammal, det är riktigt häftigt hur upphetsad barn får, speciellt att se alla dockorna upp på hyllorna och [tänka] som en miniatyr av mig kommer att vara där uppe, det är overkligt.

Var det svårt för dem att kopiera dig? Hade du att stå i timmar och ritas av, eller var några super smart teknik inblandade?
Det var faktiskt mycket enkelt, vi bara skickade in en massa foton och saker och kläder som jag faktiskt har bärt. Vi ville se till att det som var nära som möjligt att se ut som mig utan att jag går in och gör en verklig mögel. [Skrattar] Det skulle vara galen.

Har du några synpunkter på ditt hår?
Yeah. Jag tror de gjorde ett bra jobb.

Så du är den som ansvarar för termen
“side-swept surfer ‘do”!
Jag tror inte att jag döpte den till det? [Skrattar]

Jag tror att det är vad de kallar det.
Jag hade definitivt att se över och se till att det såg trevligt. Jag är verkligen nöjd med den.

Är du beredd att skriva själv?
Det kommer att bli konstigt att underteckna ett gäng lilla jag har. Ganska rolig.

Berätta om den vinnande låten, "Not Just You."
Jag tycker det är något som är väldigt nära mig känslomässigt och sånt när jag var i studion för att spela den och filma musikvideon. Det är något som jag verkligen känner nästan att jag fick vara där i processen för att skapa den låten och jag får alltid känslomässig när jag sjunger att eftersom det är en så långsam och vacker ballad och det är något som mina fans verkligen njuta. Jag får spela den på gitarr nästan varje dag.

Är break-up baserat på personliga erfarenheter?
Yeah. Yeah. [Skrattar]

Vi har haft några diskussioner om detta: var du den som tagit initiativet till uppbrottet?
Ja, det jag var.

Förhoppningsvis inte via sms eller nåt sånt?
Nej, det ser jag till att hålla det gentlemannamässigt.

Bra att höra. Du har också börjat arbeta med Justin Biebers manager, Scooter Braun, i år. Har du fått umgås med Justin alls?
Några gånger. Jag kommer att arbeta i studion med honom under de närmaste månaderna. Jag är faktiskt i studion arbetar på mitt album och vi kommer att få arbeta med honom, och han har inget annat än fantastiskt. Vi har några fantastiska planer för nästa år [och] Jag kan verkligen inte vänta med att dela albumet med alla.

Har du lärt dig något från honom, musik eller något annat? Är det något du vill tävla om The Bieb?
Inte riktigt för att jag vill vara en helt annan artist. Jag vill vara säker, jag respekterar honom och jag har inget annat än fantastiska saker att säga om honom, men varje konstnär vill vara sin egen och vill skapa sin egen musikstil, sitt eget ljud, sin egen show och grejer, och Det är vad jag arbetar mot just nu. [Jag] arbetar på att med Scooter och jag är glad över det. Justin har verkligen stött det också så det är coolt. Det är en bra relation att vi alla har för tillfället.

Han hade också mycket ikoniska hår när han först kom ut.
Yeah. [Skrattar]

Han har haft ett par hårklippning nyligen att har fått mycket uppmärksamhet, vissa människor fortfarande älskar det, andra inte så mycket. Ser du en förändring i frisyr ner linjen?
Kanske, men jag gillar mitt hår för tillfället.

Du gillar din
“side-swept surfer ‘do”? Få en massa komplimanger?
Jag tänker låta det växa längre.

Vi kan föreställa sig dockor nu. Vilket leder oss till en trevlig SEGUE: Du är från Australien, så för oss i USA, vad är det mest Aussie sak om dig?
Förmodligen min dialekt. [Skrattar] Jag kan inte säga att det är något mer australiensiska än hur jag pratar, och vad mer? Jag måste fråga en amerikan om det. Min avspänd personlighet och sånt?

Tycker du om Vegemite? [Ed. Obs: Vegemite är ett salt sprids som många Aussies sätta på rostat bröd. Prova på egen risk.]
Jag ska vara ärlig ... Jag gillar inte Vegemite.

Verkligen? Du är den första australiensiska jag har pratat med som någonsin sagt det.
[Skrattar] Jag har aldrig gillat det.

Shocker. Vi kanske har att återkalla ditt australiska kort för den.
[Skrattar] Nej

Så du är en för en i vår Pop-Off konkurrens, och nu är du mot Avril Lavigne och hennes låt "Wish You Were Here." Gillar du hennes musik?
Det är faktiskt riktigt roligt för när jag var yngre, som åtta eller nio, skulle jag ha, hon har varit ute ett tag, va?

En liten stund.
Jag slår vad jag var 10, men jag brukade sjunga hennes låtar på Sing Star på Playstation.

Verkligen?
Ja som "komplicerat" och allt det där. Det är riktigt roligt att jag upp mot henne. Jag är definitivt en fläkt, så vi får se hur det går, [men] jag ärligt talat inte skulle bli besviken om jag inte vinner, jag är inte en dålig förlorare eller något.

Men hur är det Simpsonizers? Du måste få ut rösta!
Självklart Jag är mycket konkurrenskraftiga, så vi får se hur det går.

Dina fans vill inte låta detta gå, de är tweeting redan som galen.
Nej de inte. [Skrattar]

Varje meddelande för dem när vi går till nästa omgång?
Jag vill bara berätta för dem alla tack för den kärlek och stöd, tack för att rösta. Jag uppskattar verkligen hur engagerade alla är och förhoppningsvis kan vi hålla den.

Vilken musik lyssnar du på nuförtiden? Är du verkligen arbetar med en remix till The Weeknd?
Yeah. Japp.

Tror du att kan överraska folk?
Han är förmodligen i min topp 3 favoritartister just nu. Det finns mycket som folk inte vet om mig.

Det är bra, det är vad vi är här för.
Jag är ett stort fan av Weeknd, stort fan av Drake, också.

Vi har definitivt spelat dem båda runt på kontoret, vad är din favoritlåt på Take Care?
Jag älskar det första spåret "Over my dead body." Jag älskar "Shot For Me," det är riktigt bra. "The Real henne:" Jag är en stor fan av den långsamma grejer han lagt ut, är det lite annorlunda till vad han tidigare har gjort. Jag är ett stort fan av lynnig musik jag bara remixed "Marvin's room."

Några fler täcker eller remixar uppradade?
Jag kommer att remixa
[The Weeknd's] “What You Need” under de närmaste veckorna. Jag tror inte det kommer att besvika någon. Jag lyssnar på dessa två artister definitivt, en hel del Jack Johnson också, en hel del kyla vibey musik som jag växte upp lyssnade på.

För att slutföra den australiensiska vibe.
CS: Yes ma'am!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0